1. K-State home
  2. »Housing and Dining Services
  3. »Resources
  4. »News
  5. »2017 News
  6. »Wefald Hall ceremony

Housing and Dining Services

Wefald Hall ceremony

Wefald Hall public dedication and reception April 1

March 28, 2017 — Kansas State University's first residence hall to be built in more than 50 years will be dedicated in a public ceremony Saturday, April 1.

The dedication will take place at 11 a.m., with a reception immediately following. Guided tours of the hall will begin at 9 a.m. Parking will be available in Bill Snyder Family Stadium's east lot, with a continuous shuttle to transport guests to Wefald Hall. In the event of inclement weather, the ceremony will be in the conference area of Kramer Dining Center. 

Wefald Hall is a coeducational residence hall in the Kramer Community, which includes Goodnow and Marlatt halls, on the west side of campus. Its eight floors contain space for 540 students in one- and two-person rooms with walk-in closets and high ceilings. Study spaces, kitchenettes and a lobby are available on each floor, and the hall's community bathrooms feature a collection of single-use units. Wefald's lobby includes Cornerstone Coffee & Bakery, which is open to the public.

Adjacent to the hall is the newly constructed, state-of-the-art Kramer Dining Center, an all-you-care-to-eat facility open to residents seven days a week. Students can also take advantage of Overtime Grill, a late-night dining option that is available to the Manhattan community.

Wefald Hall was named for former Kansas State University President Jon Wefald, who served from 1986-2009. Wefald will speak at the ceremony. 

Additional prominent speakers will include Richard Myers, president of Kansas State University; Pat Bosco, vice president for student life and dean of students; Pat Roberts, U.S. senator for Kansas; Bill Snyder, Kansas State University football coach; Frank Tracz, the university's director of bands; Derek Jackson, director of the university's Housing and Dining Services and assistant vice president for student life; Dale Brown, former collegiate basketball coach; Dennis Mullin, current member of the Kansas Board of Regents; Clay Blair, former chairman of the Kansas Board of Regents; Bob Wefald, brother of Jon Wefald; James Reittinger, architect for TreanorHL Architects; and Rylee Bergh, freshman in food science and industry, Louisburg, and president of the Hall Governing Board.